Premier Intermediate Final

On Sunday last we competed in our first Premier Intermediate Final since 1999 and hoped to erase the memory of relegation from the Senior ranks last year. In the final we met Garryspillane who were the only team to defeat us in the group stages this year. It was a massive battle and after late drama ended in a draw Murroe Boher 0-21 Garryspillane 3-12. In the first half we played with a strong breeze but it was the bouncers who got off to the better start leading 1-4 to 0-4 after 12mins but then 9 unanswered points from then to half time gave ourselves a great lead at the break 0-13 to 1-4. Seanie Tobin ended the half with four points from play and four from frees while Aaron Kennedy and Cillian Byrnes had two each with Conor Byrnes getting the other score. The second half started well for Garryspillane who tapped over the first few scores of the half to close the gap but entering the final quarter we led by four when Garryspillane won a penalty that was converted. The score was then level with just over 10 mins to play but we appeared to have steadied the ship with Jack Casey, Seanie Tobin and Seamus Hickey points to lead in injury time then disaster when Garryspillane won a 21m free that was hammered to net to draw level and necessitate a replay.

SCORERS: Murroe-Boher: Seanie Tobin 0-13 (7frees), Aaron Kennedy and Cillian Byrnes 0-2 each, Conor Byrnes, Dylan O’Connor, Jack Casey and Seamus Hickey 0-1 each.

MURROE-BOHER: William Tobin; Brian Timmons , Seamus Hickey, Dylan Ryan; Finn Hourigan, Darragh Kennedy, Barry Cusack; Aaron Kennedy , Dylan Sheehan; Jack Casey, Conor Byrnes, Sean Tobin; Darren Dunlea, Cillian Byrnes, Pat Tobin. Subs: Dylan O’Connor for Pat Tobin (33mins), Matthew Hanly for Dylan Ryan (41mins), Ross Kennedy for Aaron Kennedy (55mins), Kevin Clohessy for Cillian Byrnes (62mins).