Ryan Cusack Tournament Report

This year’s Ryan Cusack tournament was played on Saturday 12th September in Harty park Murroe. This year’s tournament had just 3 teams  with St . Martins from Wexford pulling out at the last minute due to a county final. The first match saw Ballina from Tipperary defeat Murroe Boher from Limerick in a cracker of a game 4.03 to 2.05. The next game saw two Tipperary sides meet,  Kilruane McDonaghs v Ballina. This was a ding dong battle with Ballina winning by the slenderest of margins 1.06 to 1.05. The next game was between Murroe Boher and Kilruane McDonaghs for the right to face Ballina in the final. A huge crowd had gathered at this stage and this helped our lads home,  winning 2.06 to 2.03. The final was a great game  with end to end Hurling,  Ballina coming out on top ona scoreline of 3.08 to 2.05. After a  few words from Bord na nog secretary Rory Moylan,  Martina Cussack presented the cup to Ballina’s winning captain. The club are delighted to remember Ryan on this day. The club would like to thank those who helped out on the day, the teams that travelled and referee Denis Richardson. After the presentation,  the Bord na nog ran a bus to Thurles to see Limerick recapture the All Ireland u21 trophy. A great day& evening was had by all