Junior A Football

On Sunday evening the Murroe Boher ¬†junior A footballers travelled to South Liberties for round 1 of the Junior A football championship. Our lads hadn’t kicked a ball since the county quarter final defeat to Glin last year, as they didn’t take part in the junior football league due to hurling commitments. Liberties, with a few matches under their belt, started brightly and went 0-02 to 0-00 ahead after 6 mins, Liberties then had a great goal chance saved by Colin Brouder and the ball was worked down the field for Brian Quinn to kick a point. A super kick from Willie Tobin brought the sides level. M/B were blowing out the cobwebs but conceded two soft frees, leaving it Liberties 0-04
M/B 0-02 with 5 mins to half time. Great work by Ross Kennedy and Dylan Sheehan created 2 chances and Darragh Ryan and Patrick Tobin both kick balls straight over the black spot to have the teams at 0-04 apiece at halftime. M/B started the second half brightly and Willie Tobin kicked another good point before having to leave the field injured. Some fine fielding by Steven Coughlan and David Richardson helped M/B gather momentum and Brian Quinn kicked a couple of placed balls to have the score M/B 0-07 Liberties 0-04 with 12 mins remaining. David Brouder, who was having a fine game at full back, then got black carded reducing M/B to 14 as we had no subs. Liberties got back into the game and after minutes of pressure and attacking kicked 2 points after Eoin Fitzpatrick and the goalie combined to snuff out 2 goal chances. With minutes remaining both teams exchanged points to leave it M/B 0-08 Liberties 0-07. Very exciting at this stage, Mattie Hanly finished off a fine personal performance by sending a rocket to the roof of the Liberties net after good work by Patrick Tobin and Ross Kennedy. Solid performances all round from our lads grinded out a fine win. Full time Murroe Boher  1-08 South Liberties 0-07
Good win for the lads considering six players were missing due to holidays, work commitments and sickness. Manager William Hanly with selectors Christopher Ryan and Willie Tobin will hope to build on this performance for the upcoming championship matches
Team : 1. Colin Brouder 2. Eoin Fitzpatrick 3. David Brouder 4. Shane Quigley 5. Pat Walsh 6. Dylan Sheehan 7. Mattie Hanly 8. Liam Breen 9. Ross Kennedy 10. Darragh Ryan 11. Brian Quinn 12. David Richardson 13. Steven Coughlan 14. Patrick Tobin 15. Willie Tobin ( J. Coughlan ) 16. John Coughlan
17. Daithi Clohessy (togged out and came on for black card)