Minor Hurling Championship

On Tuesday evening round 3 of the premier minor hurling championship took place. After having a Bye in round 1 and beating Kilmallock 2-16 to 0-12 in round 2, Murroe/Boher travelled to Newcastlewest where they started brightly and a Jack Casey point and 2 Kevin Clohessy frees had M/B 0-03 to 0-00 after 5 mins. NCW pointed before M/B created 2 goal chances unfortunately Kevin Clohessy rattled the crossbar and minutes later the NCW goalie made a fine save to deny Jack Barry, NCW got a lift and they sent over a few points from play and placed balls. they were causing problems but M/B defence stood firm.Half time M/B 0-10 NCW 0-07
The Second half saw Eoin Hourigan switch from wing back to corner forward and he immediately caused chaos for the NCW full back line. NCW from the throw in set up with a sweeper in defence and 3 midfielders, while this system worked for short periods in culling the M/B attack it only yielded NCW with 2 points in the second half. Aaron Kennedy and Finn Hourigan cleared an amount of ball, this supply created opportunities for M/B. Jack Casey, Dylan O’Connor and Cillian Byrnes were denied goals by some fine NCW defending. Eoin Hourigan, Cillian Byrnes, Kevin Clohessy and Jack Casey pointed in the second half along with an amount of placed balls from the deadly accurate Clohessy.
Full time M/B 0-23 NCW 0-09
In defence Jake Shanahan and Brian Timmons were very solid while Barry Cusack was outstanding. John Richardson had a fine game even though he had no.4 on his jersey he actually played midfield for the entire match as his man was deployed as a 3rd midfielder. County minor Conor Byrnes along with Mattie Hanly were solid in midfield. Kevin Clohessy led the forwards and great workrate from Steven Coughlan and Dylan O’Connor created an amount of scoring chances.
M/B will play Patrickswell in Boher for the next fixture

1. Jake Shanahan
2. Barry Cusack
3. Brian Timmons
4. John Richardson
5. Finn Hourigan
6. Aaron Kennedy
7. Eoin Hourigan
8. Matthew Hanly
9. Conor Byrnes
10. Jack Casey (S.Mulcahy)
11. Cillian Byrnes
12. Steven Coughlan (G.Ryan)
13. Jack Barry
14. Kevin Clohessy
15. Dylan O’Connor
16. Eoin Fitzpatrick
17. Shane Mulcahy
18. Philip Hodgkinson
19. Gavan Ryan
20. Liam Cunningham