Murroe Boher U13 County Champions

The Holy Grail of Hurling was reached on Saturday when the under 13 squad won the County Championship on a wet and windy day in Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale. The most pleasing achievement on the day was the way in which these young hurlers overcame Na Piarsaigh on what can only be described as a complete team performance. Winning the toss Murroe Boher chose to play into the wind in the first half, starting slowly in all their group matches to qualify for the final the omens might have been against us but within minutes it was clear this team was up for the match and were determined to win.

Na Piarsaigh got the first two chances to try and break through our defence but both chances came to nothing when our defence of Sean O’Brien, Michael Dunlea, Shane Bartley, Mark Nicholas, Jack Nicholas and Eoghan Burke fought tooth and nail to prevent any early attacks on goal.

Only a few minutes into the match Sean Quigley and Johnny Kelly were fighting hard in the centre of the pitch when they got the ball to David Hickey who took a shot on goal which Jack O’Carroll playing as full forward deflected into the back of the net the all-important first score for Murroe Boher. The boy’s heads were now up and it was not long before some strong link up play by Calum Ryan and Corner forward Eoin Madigan led to the second goal for Murroe Boher.

Na Piarsaigh got their first score with a break down the right side of the field and a well struck shot for a point and after 20 minutes the first half ended with Murroe Boher in the lead 2-00 to 0-01. We had a five point lead but it was only 2 scores to 1 score and we had left a lot of chances behind us.

Na Piarsiagh came out fighting in the second half and threw everything into attack with about 7 minutes into the second half Murroe Boher were defending against a purple patch for Na Piarsaigh when they opposition were awarded a 20 meter free directly in front of our goals. An instinctive save by the goalie Cathal Barry was deflected over for a point and this seemed to drive on the Murroe Boher team who through Michael Ryan who was constantly testing the Na Piarsaigh defence got the sliotar to Michael Hourigan who scored Murroe Boher’s third goal of the match.

After the restart Brian Quigley was introduced for Eoin Madigan and we traded points with Na Piarsaigh with a well-placed free for Na Piarsiagh but this was quickly replied to with a free won by Brian Quigley was put over the bar by David Hickey. This made the score 3-01 for Murroe Boher to 0-03 for Na Piarsaigh. Michael Hourigan was to finish the scoring with a final point to give Murroe Boher a well-earned County Championship. Jack Nicholas as Captain accepted the cup on behalf of Murroe Boher to a big crowd of supporters from Murroe Boher

Team on the day was:- 1. Cathal Barry, 2.Sean O’Brien, 3. Michael Dunlea, 4.Shane Bartley, 5. Mark Nicholas, 6. Jack Nicholas, 7. Eoin Burke, 8. David Hickey, 9. Sean Quigley, 10. Calum Ryan, 11. Johnny Kelly, 12. Michael Ryan, 13. Jack O’Carroll, 14. Michael Hourigan, 15. Eoin Madigan, 16. Brian Quigley, 17. Colin Hackett, 18. Jack O’Sullivan, 19. James Collopy, 20. Luke Moran, 21. Mark Cusack, 22. Michael O’Brien, 23. Jack Stockil, 24. Oisin Kelly, 25. Cillian O’Shea, 26.Jack Oliver, 27. Mickey Kelly, 28. Alex Considine, 29. Stephen Moore, 30. Thomas Barry, 31. Jay Ryan, 32. Ciaran Fitzgerald.


The u13 County Champions
The u13 County Champions