Junior A Football

Murroe Boher Junior A footballers played Ahane on Friday night in the East Limerick Junior A Football Championship.
Larry Hanly captained the team and after winning the toss, elected to play with the aid of a very strong wind into the Ahane clubhouse end.

Murroe Boher started brightly and registered the first point ,scored by Mike Ryan and goal scored by Darragh Kennedy .
Ahane registered the next three points in a row before Murroe Boher pushed ahead with points from Darragh Kennedy & Ross Kennedy and a great goal from Mike Ryan.
Ahane worked  themselves back into the game and were to finish the half with 2 Goals and a point to see both teams level @ half time on a scoreline of 2-4 each.

Christopher Ryan and coaches reorganised the team in the second period which saw Larry Hanly go to centre back replaced by Kevin Tobin in centre field and Darren Dunlea introduced to replace Darragh Kennedy .
Murroe Boher started the better in the second period and were settled by three quick points from Brian Quinn ,Kevin Tobin and Pat Tobin, this seemed to settle our team, who were to work hard, and play some great football to see the game out.
Colin Brouder had some great kick outs to find a dominate Larry Hanly, Diarmuid  Byrnes was to mop up any broken ball and Kevin Tobin came short to vary our restarts and give the team a great platform.
David and Shane Quigley covered the corner back positions and held their men scoreless, Shane Egan was outstanding at full back and was always first to the ball .
Darragh Ryan was very strong going forward and assisted in a number of scored points .
Darren Dunlea and Kevin Tobin dominated centre field and were always up in support of their forwards, Kevin scoring a super point and Darren Dunlea breaking  from the centre field to crash a great ball to the back of the net, this saw our lads in total dominance and fighting for every ball, epitomised by Declan Kett who really made a big impact on the game, disrupting Ahane kick outs, showing great ball control and a vision for passes that released the attack unit.
The inside forward line was led by Pat Tobin who showed all his cunning craft and smarts to register 1-01 from play and put the game beyond reach ,supported by William Clohessey and Ross Kennedy who chipped in with 3 points in the second half .
Result Murroe Boher 4-09 Ahane 2-09.
Team and scores 1. Colin Brouder 2. David Quigley 3. Shane Egan 4. Shane Quigley 5.Darragh Ryan (David Brouder on 50 mins)6. Kevin Tobin 0-1 pts 7. Diarmuid Byrnes 8.Darragh Kennedy1-01 pts  (Darren  dunlea 1-0 on 30 mins) 9. Larry Hanly(Capt) 10.Brian Quinn 0-01 pts  11. Declan Kett 12. Michael Ryan 1-01 13.William Clohessy(Darragh Kennedy on 40 mins) 14. Pat Tobin 1-01 15. Ross Kennedy 0-4pts. 16. Darren Dunlea 17.David Brouder. Injured, Willaim Tobin, Joe. Keyes, Seanie Tobin, Dan Ryan.

Posted by J Kennedy