Club Girls Anna Madigan & Orla Regan reach All Ireland Final with Limerick U-14 Girls Gaelic Footballers

On Saturday June 14th Limerick U-14 Girls Gaelic Footballers reached the All Ireland final following a comprehensive victory over Derry in Boyle County Roscommon. Well done to club girls Anna Madigan and Orla Regan who played a big part in the match and now have the chance to add All Ireland medals to their Munster and All Ireland blitz medals already secured this year.

Full match report below.

Limerick 8-07 Derry 3-04

Limerick made the long trip to Boyle in Roscommon, on Saturday, 14 June to take on the Ulster Champions Derry in the All Ireland Semi Final.  It promised to be an intriguing battle between both sides.  In ideal conditions in Boyle, Limerick settled into the game quickly and were first on the scoreboard with a goal by Eimear Kirby, followed by three goals from Ciara Clancy.  Limerick were playing exhibition football and drove on with two more goals from Lauren Ryan and points from Andrea O’Sullivan and Eimear Kirby, Derry responded scoring 1-2, to leave the half time score: Limerick 6-2 to Derry’s 1-2.  Limerick knew that Derry would up their game in the second half, this they duly did, but Limerick having played a powerful first half, drove on with a goal and a point from Eimear Kirby, a goal and two points from Andrea O’Sullivan and two points from Lauren Ryan, Derry responded scoring 2-2, to leave the full time score: Limerick 8-7 to Derry’s 3-4.  Well done to Limerick an a superb team performance. Limerick now turn their attention to the All Ireland Final, where they will take on the Lenister Champions Louth in the Final, on the 20 July.

Limerick Team: Aoife Corbett (Monagea), Ciara Ryan (St Ailbes), Maedbh McCarthy (Drom/Broadford), Lucy Ryan (St Brigid’s), Joanne Foley (Mungret/St Paul’s), Emma Hogan (Monagea), Katie Heelan (St Ailbes), Roisin Ambrose (Old Mill), Sive O’Halloran (Adare), Ciara Clancy (St Brigid’s) Andrea O’Sullivan (Ballylanders), Sinead Callinan (Ahane),  Lauren Ryan (Adare) Captain, Eimear Kirby (Knockainey) and Orla Regan (Murroe/Boher). Subs introduced in the second half: Emma Conway (Mungret/St Paul’s) for Sive O’Halloran, Noirin Lenihan (Adare) for Sinead Callinan, Nicole Kenny (St Brigids) for Ciara Clancy, Anna Madigan  (Murroe/Boher) for Orla Regan, Aisling Herbert (Ahane) for Eimear Kirby.Rest of the Panel: Karin Mason  (Mungret/St Paul’s), Clare O’Meara (Mungret/St Paul’s), Rachel Fennell (Mungret/St Paul’s), Cathy Ambrose (Old Mill), Laura O’Shaughnessy (Gerald Griffins),  Ciara O’Brien (Mungret/St Paul’s), Eileen Scanlon (Gerald Griffins) and Caoimhe McMahon (Aherlow).

Team Manager: Kevin Boyle (St Brigid’s), Backroom Team: John Holland (St Brigid’s), Barry O’Halloran (Adare), Peter Sheehan (St Patrick’s), Breda Ahern (Ahane) and Breda Corbett